top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmlyn Runners

Helen wins GOLD!

Helen's story.

At the age of 60 I took a hard look at myself and was not happy with what I found!! Out of shape and overweight that was me. The only person who could change that was me! OK I thought – more exercise combined with a more healthy diet might be the way to go. Ah ha a running club in Newcastle Emlyn. No probably not, ’running club’ conjures up the image of lean, fit, toned, fast, lithe individuals - not quite me!! I thought let’s give it a try. One Thursday night turned up to the leisure centre, ready to shuffle along. Scared and nervous that it would not be for me and I would end up miles from anywhere, on my own as those young fit people would have raced off and left me. Was I wrong!! I was made to feel welcome. Was told that of course no one would leave me behind. If I need to walk then I should walk, do as much or as little as I felt I could do.

Over the course of the next few years, with the guidance of club members, I learnt how to pace myself, run downhill (scary), the importance of speed work, resting, injury prevention, the benefits of hill running (I love them now). I joined runs in the dark with a head torch, sprint training, speed training. It is a lovely club that welcome all ages and abilities.

Now at the age of 70 I have represented Wales in the 1500 metre track championships and brought back gold. Running has become an addiction and it all started with that first step on a Thursday night.

Come and join the club, you won’t regret it, you might just find that you can do so much more than you ever dreamed could.



12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


heulwen_james
Mar 24, 2020

Helen, I remember that first night you came to club and look at you now! It’s been a pleasure to follow you through your journey. Bravo👏👏👏. 🏅

Like
bottom of page